top of page


Manufacturing & Trade

Recognises the use of effective methodologies and techniques focusing on improvements in quality, cost, production, physical waste reduction, customer service and safety.


Recognises a business or service whose prime function is the sale of goods or services face to face or online. These include privately owned service based businesses, shops or franchises.



Recognises leading organisations whose on-going work or a specific project undertaken results in outcomes which are visionary, high impact and transformative, embodying the qualities that define excellence including outstanding generosity, creativity, innovation, commitment and courage.

Tourism & Hospitality


Recognises a business that excels in delivering quality experiences in the tourism and hospitality industry including accommodation, activity, transport, dining and retail businesses.

Primary & Rural

Recognises the achievements of a business that operates in the rural or primary industries sector.

Emerging Business

Recognises a business that has achieved significant business growth during the last one to three years as a result of effective planning and delivery. The business must have started trading after 31 March 2015 and to have been operating from that date up to 31 March 2018.

Professional Services

Businesses entering this category will show strengths in service excellence, business growth, innovation, technology, training and personal development. This category covers a wide range of professional services including, legal, real estate, medical and financial services.

Service to Business

Judges are looking for nominations of individuals who have contributed substantially to business in their community.  It's your opportunity to nominate someone who's given their time and energy to help local businesses.

Email your nomination to  This award aims to cast a light on the dedication shown and achievements made by this individual. Email us with evidence and information about how your nominee has been of service to business in your community, and why they deserve the award.

People's Choice Award

Businesses in this category are nominated by the public. To win, nominees must gather as many votes as possible by September 17, 2018 to prove they are the People’s Choice.


Submit this to

Please keep your answer to under 500 words.

  • Nominations open on June 18, 2018, and close July 29, 2018.

  • Voting runs from August 7, 2018 to September 14, 2018.

  • Nominations and Voting will take place through the Award’s website

    and Facebook page.

  • After votes are counted, the top three nominees will receive three

    tickets each to the awards evening on September 27 2018, where the winning business will be announced.

    Please note the People’s Choice Award sits outside the Supreme award.



Sustainable Practice & Innovation Awards

This year “Innovation” and “Sustainable Practices” are not categories in the Hauraki Coromandel Business Awards. Nevertheless, you can opt in to have your businesses sustainable practices or innovativeness assessed as part of the category you are entering.


The business that can display the highest level of excellence in sustainable practices or innovation will be recognised on the awards night.



bottom of page